Latest News‎ > ‎


posted 23 Nov 2012, 07:15 by Unknown user


On Thursday 8th November, Toomevara N.S. played Ballyneale N.S. in the Football County Final Roinn F in the Ragg. It was Toomevara N.S. first time to play in a Football County Final. David Brady captained the team and led by example. Both teams showed excellent skill on the day. First to score was Aidan White, followed by Éamonn White and Mikie Delaney. Toomevara were showing great skill and determination. At half time, Toomevara were winning by a point, the score was 2-6 to 3-1. The second half began with an Aidan White point from a pass by Conor Grace 6th Class.  David Brady in Midfield was relentless and ran up and down the pitch. Our goalkeeper Steven O’Neill made some great saves on the day. Our backs were kept busy and played a lot of ball down to our forwards. Kenneth Ryan, Conor Grace 6th Class and Conor Grace 5th Class tackled fiercely and sent the ball back down field. It was a nail biting finish and Toomevara N.S. scored another two points but it wasn’t enough to win. Ballyneale N.S. won by two points, the final score 2-10 to 5-3. There was great support on the day from the school and parents. All enjoyed an exciting game of football. Toomevara N.S. Football Panel David Brady (Capt), Mikie Delaney, Conor Grace

Aidan White, Conor Grace, Éamonn White, Steven O’Neill, Kenneth Ryan, Mark Kelly, Thomas Galvin, Stephen Darcy, Keelan Comerford, Kelsey Kenneally Egan

Mary Flaherty, Adam Guilfoyle, David Corcoran, Conor Clarke, Jack Ryan, Tim Flaherty



A county final is a memorable day for any player and on Wednesday, 7th November it was the turn of the boys from St. Colmcille’s, Templemore and St. John the Baptist, Cashel to savour the opportunity. Even the winter sun came out to mark this special occasion as the title of Under 11 Roinn B Football County Champions was up for grabs. Páirc Shíleáin was the venue and referee Tom McGrath’s whistle ordered the players to their positions as the ball was thrown in. Both teams had qualified for the final by winning their respective blitzes. Templemore overcame Gaelscoil Thurles, Pouldine and Moycarkey while Cashel saw off Grange and Gaelscoil Clonmel. This was a match played at a high tempo where exceptional tackling and blocking gave the large crowd plenty to cheer about. A super goal from the Templemore captain Diarmuid Delaney gave the home team an early advantage which was consolidated with two points in quick succession from James Corcoran and Conor Cadell. These two young stars played at midfield and gave an exhibition of football, dictating the game and each scoring goals that will live long in the memory of all present. Conor Cadell’s goal was a powerful drive to the net with his left foot after a defence splitting run. Later in the second half James Corcoran would do similar, striking the ball accurately into the bottom corner to the delight of his coaches Denis Kelly, Conor Doyle and Kieran Healy. Cashel, for their part, never gave up. A goal in each half by Jack McGrath and Conor O’Dwyer ensured a good contest and if the game was to be judged on tackling and blocking, Cashel would have won out. However, it’s scores that matter and Templemore were unwilling to concede easily. Stylish and stout defending from Darragh Doyle, Martin Bergin, Stephen Cahill, and Niall Moloney ensured that Cashel had to work incredibly hard to get within sight of the Templemore goal. And in that goal stood Ewan Scott who was cool, calm and confident at all times. Throughout the game all four defenders attacked the ball and cleverly distributed it further up the field. With a mean defensive foursome and the midfield on top, it was up to the forwards to keep the scoreboard ticking. Ali Aissou was a constant threat and was unlucky to have a goal disallowed for square ball. Jack Nevin chipped in with a neatly taken goal. Eoin Quinn, Kevin Sheedy and Patrick Moloney all contributed points which rounded off a famous win for Templemore on a score line of 5.07 to 2.00. Cashel will be disappointed but they have made great strides in recent times and competed in both the U13 and U11 football finals this year. Captain Diarmuid Delaney collected the shield on behalf of St. Colmcille’s who will inscribe their name on it for the first time. This is the second county football title of the year for Templemore who picked up the U11B county title only three weeks ago. With over half the panel underage again next year, there is optimism that the future for football is bright.



On the 9th of November at 12:20, Moyne N.S were scheduled to play Rahealty N.S in the U13 Roinn C Ladies Football Final. It was a dreary, damp dark day. We were nervous, anxious and hopeful. The tension was building from weeks before. Moyne Captain, Lisa Fanning won the toss and the match was on! Rahealty got off to a strong start and dominated the first half despite two great goals from Moyne – one from Ellie Maher and one from Niamh Ryan. The halftime score was 3:7 to 2 goals with Rahealty in front. The 2nd half started with Moyne N.S fired up and determined to do their best. Moyne’s strong full backs Lauren Dunne and Laura Daly worked hard and Goalie Mairead Foy ably saved several shots. Moyne N.S started to claw back with successive goals from Niamh Ryan and with Ellie Maher, Lisa Fanning, and Martina Moynihan challenging Rahealty in mid field. Nicole Kelly and Eva Henehan were unlucky not to score up front despite a huge effort. Regardless of a great work rate from Moyne, Rahealty managed to maintain their lead. A final score of 7:9 goals to 7 goals (6 of which were scored by Niamh Ryan) meant victory for Rahealty. It was a great experience for both teams and while we were devastated to lose we congratulate Rahealty N.S on their victory. TEAM: Stephany Banglayan, Rebecca Birmingham-Jordan, Shannon Boland, Zuzia Bokota, Laura Daly, Lauren Dunne, Lisa Fanning, Mairead Foy, Eva Henehan, Nicole Kelly, Nicole Leahy, Ellie Maher, Grace Moore, Martina Moynihan, Niamh Ryan.



Having lost county hurling finals in 2010 and 2011, and a county football final in 2011, Kilbarron finally landed the first county title in the history of the school with a hard-fought victory over Anacarty N.S. in the Section G final in the Ragg last Thursday. Anacarty opened the scoring with a point. Kilbarron’s Kevin Boyle responded with a point and two more followed from Conal Moran. Anacarty dominated play for the next ten minutes but the Kilbarron defence of Marcus Esmonde and John O’ Meara held firm and, with the help of the crossbar and a well-struck penalty back off the post, held Anacarty to just three points in this period. Now Kilbarron were to take over and they dominated play for the final five minutes and, with two superb goals and a point from captain Adam Slattery and a point from Conal Moran, were in the lead at half time on a score line of 2-4 to 0-4. Anacarty were first out of the blocks again in the second half with a quick point. However this would prove to be their final score of the game as Kilbarron took over and dominated until the final whistle. Adam Slattery played the captain’s role well scoring another two goals and two points. Conal Moran helped himself to a goal and another point and Michael Slattery scored a goal and three points. John O’Meara added two more points to leave the final score: Kilbarron N.S. 6-12, Anacarty N.S. 0-5. It was a great team performance with every player giving their all.