Latest News‎ > ‎


posted 12 Apr 2011, 08:48 by Unknown user

Clerihan N.S Under 11 Hurlers Shine In Moyle Rovers By Aodan Wrenn


Moyle Rovers was the venue for the South Under 11 Go Games hurling blitzes, in Roinn C of the Cumann na mBunscol Under 11 Festival of Hurling, on Thursday April 6th.

It was a lovely Spring afternoon. The pitch was in excellent condition, with 2 pitches laid out perfectly for both blitzes. The Roinn C blitzes consisted of the school's A teams. Roinn C1 blitzes consisted of the school's B teams.In Roinn C the schools participating were Clerihan, Ardfinnan, Powerstown and Gaelscoil Cluan Meala.In Roinn C1 the teams were Clerihan 'B', Powerstown 'B' and Ardfinnan 'B'. In Roinn C1 Powerstown 'B' beat Clerihan 'B' in a good match. Then Powerstown 'B' beat Ardfinnan 'B'. Powerstown B were now through.

In the decider Ardfinnan B played Clerihan B to see who would join them in the next round of blitzes. After an excellent game Clerihan B beat Ardfinnan B by 2-2 to 2-1. It was a brilliant win for Clerihan, who had many boys from 3rd class wearing the Clerihan school jersey for the first time. Special mention must go to Tim Norris who scored two goals and John Mulcahy who got the other scores. Other especial heroes, on a team of heroes, were Oisin Casey, Aidan Maher, Josh King and Tom Houze.The very young Clerihan boys were thrilled to find out that they had qualified for the next round of blitzes, after Easter. Well done to Mr. Hennessy who took charge of the Clerihan second team, and had them playing very confident and courageous hurling. In Roinn C (school's A teams) Clerihan won the blitz, winning all 3 games in great style. Clerihan were very dominant throughout, playing with skill, intensity, courage and style. They emphatically stamped their authority on the proceedings, with authoritative hurling combined with fantastic work rate. They were especially impressive in the arts of blocking, catching the sliotar, taking their scores and using space to place their passes. However one area they will need to improve on is their first touch, which let them down on occasions. That will have to sharpen that up for the next round, after Easter. The boys know the next round will be very difficult and they need to continue practising every day at home, to sharpen up their skills. But at least they have cleared the first hurdle, and can look forward to the next day out (which will be the County Semi Final Blitz, at a venue and date to be decided asap). Best players for Clerihan on the day were Rian Quigley, Cian Mullane, Ben Keating Hogan, Liam McGrath and Callum Meagher. But all players played their part to the absolute full. Clerihan defeated Powerstown in the first game 2-2 to 0-3. Then Clerihan beat Gaelscoil Clonmel 4-4 to 0-0. Finally Clerihan overcame Ardfinnan 4-2 to 0-0. In other games Powerstown beat Gaelscoil Clonmel and Ardfinnan. Also Ardfinnan beat Gaelscoil Clonmel. Therefore Clerihan and Powerstown qualify from today's Roinn C blitz, to go on to the next round.Thanks to Micheal McCormack and Derek O'Mahony for doing excellent jobs as referees for the games. A special thanks also to Moyle Rovers, and their caretaker, for having the pitches in immaculate condition.Well done to all teams who participated in the blitz. We hope they enjoyed the day.Finally well to the the 2 young Clerihan teams who did their school proud. Best of luck to them in the next round. Also very best of luck to Powerstown's two teams the next day.Clerihan 'A' : Liam McGrath, Ben Keating Hogan, Shane Hickey, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Cian Mullane, Callum Meagher, Rian Quigley, Shane Buckley, Damien Cahill. Clerihan 'B': Josh King, John Mulcahy, Aidan Maher, Oisin Casey, Jack O'Rourke, Evan Mullins, Tim Norris, Denis Mulcahy, Eoin O'Loughlin, Ben Caffrey and Tom Houze.


Good Victory For Cappawhite N.S.

The ball was thrown in by the referee.  There was a clatter between the two teams.  It was the start of a tough sporting match.  Alan O’Dwyer opened the scoring with a magnificent goal.  Fraser Allen got a high ball from Thomas Coughlan and he grabbed it, burying it in the net.  When the ball came out Thomas Coughlan was like lightening and scored a point in the blink of an eye.  Donaskeigh came barging through and got three goals.  However Cappawhite’s Alan O’Dwyer again came back with a point and finally Thomas followed it with a super goal.  It was now half time.  Score 3-3 Cappawhite to 3-1 Donaskeigh. We rose to the challenge in the second half.  Captain David Murphy was replaced in goal by Sean Ralph. He took on the challenge of full back which made a considerable difference.  Centre field Brendan Murphy steadily contested ball after ball.  He took command in the second half.  Match scorers of goals were Tim Meagher, Alan O’Dwyer, Dean Kelly, Fraser Allen (2) and Brendan Murphy.  Two final points from Tim Meagher completed the win. Final score 7-7 to 5-2.  Cappawhite N.S. now face Thomastown N.S.




Liam Seacy of Dromakeenan NS Is This Week’s Tipperary Supporters Club Junior Mascot

This week’s Tipperary Supporters Club Junior Mascot for the Allianz Hurling League match v Wexford is Liam Seacy from Roscrea.  Liam is 11 years old and goes to school in Dromakeenan National School where he’s in 5th class.  Liam hurls under 12 with Roscrea, his position is mid field and his favourite hurler is Brendan Maher. To be in with a chance of being the Mascot for a future game join up as a FREE Junior Member on .




For match reports, fixtures and school GAA news and events, please email Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol PRO John Manley of Dualla NS at Website:

Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí.