Latest News‎ > ‎


posted 8 May 2011, 09:51 by Unknown user   [ updated 8 May 2011, 10:20 ]


The 2011 Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Finals have been fixed for Semple Stadium on Thursday/Friday, June 9th/10th.


The following players have been selected on the Tipperary Primary Game Hurling Team to play at half-time during the Tipperary V Cork Munster Senior Hurling Championship game in Semple Stadium on Sunday, May 29th. Congratulations to these talented stars of the future. Team: 1. Jerry Kelly Holycross NS, 2. Adam Hogan Dunkerrin NS, 3. Jake Morris Kilruane NS, 4. Jerome Cahill Ardcroney NS, 5. Cian Darcy Cloughjordan NS, 6. Brian McGrath Loughmore NS, 7. Scott Murphy Carrick CBS, 8. Shane Neville Mount Bruis, 9. Bill Darcy Gaelscoil Durlas, 10. Michael Purcell Scoil Ailbhe, 11. Aidan o Meara Barnane NS.


The next Primary Game Hurling training session will take place in The Ragg on Wednesday, May 18th at 4:15p.m. sharp.


For the eight school weeks that remain after the Easter Break, Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol will be running a “Reporter of the Week” competition. A special “Reporter of the Week” link has been added to our website: The success of this competition is very much dependant on the response we get from the children in schools. I would encourage all teachers to have writing competitions and to pick a winning entry and submit it to Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol PRO John Manley of Dualla NS at I will then attempt to pick a winning entry. The pupil’s match report will then appear in the “Reporter of the Week” section of our website and the winner’s name will also be announced on Tipp FM. The following criteria should be adhered to:

Entry is to be typed and emailed to:

Capital Letters should be used for each name in the title.

Font Style: Verdana Size: 10

It must be formatted and spell checked. There must be a space after full stops and commas.

Match Report should have a title: e.g. “O’ Sullivan The Hero In Historic Victory For TIPPERARY C.B.S. “

Match Report should contain Score, Venue, Referee’s Name and Teamlist(s) where possible.

Praise should be given to both teams.

No paragraphs.

It should be proof-read and checked for grammatical errors.

It should be no longer than 200 words.

Pupil’s name, school, teacher and class should accompany entry. It must be emailed by your teacher, school principal or school secretary.

Second Round Championship Win For Clerihan Under 13s By Aodan Wrenn

At a wet and windy New Inn GAA pitch, on Friday 6th of May, Clerihan N.S and Knockavilla N.S played in the Second Round of the Under 13 Roinn D Hurling Championship. The weather conditions were very bad, with a lot of rain and a strong breeze. However the pitch was in very good condition considering the elements. Clerihan played with the breeze during the first half. The wind was a significant advantage, and Clerihan went in at half time 4-1 to 1-1 ahead. They were fortunate to be nine points ahead, as the game was very even and Knockavilla had played very good hurling during the half. Clerihan took the chances they got during an intense first half battle. In the second half Knockavilla had the wind and dominated for long periods. They threw everything at Clerihan, but the South school defended gallantly to continuously keep Knockavilla at bay.

At the final whistle the score read Clerihan 4-2 Knockavilla 1-3. It was a tough, physical game with no quarters asked or given. Both sets of young players tore into the action from first whistle to last in terrible conditions. The sliothar became very heavy from all the rain, and fluid hurling was very difficult to play. What was lacking in the game in outstanding skill was made up for in courage, heart and determination. Immense credit is due to both sets of young players for providing an exciting, absorbing and well-contested Championship match. Clerihan move on to a Winner-takes-all Showdown with Powerstown N.S in the final group match in Moyle Rovers on Wednesday 11th of May (throw in 2.30 pm). The winner will advance to the County Divisional Semi Final. The losers will be out of the competition. It is a huge game between neighbouring schools and should be an absolute classic. We wish Knockavilla the very best for the rest of the Championship. Thanks to referee Willie Barrett, and to Rockwell Rovers for allowing us use their pitch. Best on the day for Clerihan were Dean O'Dwyer (starting his first Championship match as goalkeeper), Conor Horan, Aaron Condon, Aiden Phelan and Luke Hahessy. Clerihan lined out as follows: Dean O'Dwyer, Sean Maher, Aiden Lyons, Alan O'Donnell, Conor Horan, Aaron Condon, Aiden Phelan, Billy Norris, Luke Hahessy, Jack Burke, Eoin Power, Evan Corcoran, Shane Buckley, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Shane Hickey, Ben Keating Hogan, Seamus McMahon and Daniel Browne.


Cornmarket Group Financial Services Ltd. are the proud sponsors of the 2011 Cumann na mBunscol National Awards which will be held on Friday, 18 November 2011 in the Hogan Mezzanine Suite, Croke Park. This year there are eight categories: 1. Pat Trainor Hall of Fame Award, 2. School of the Year, 3. Publication of the Year, 4. Public Relations of the Year, 5. Best Games Promotion Initiative, 6. Respect Initiative Schools, 7. Scoil Maith Pilot Schools, 8. Assessors’ Merit Award. Terms of Nomination: Categories 2 – 5 are open to any school, county or provincial unit of Cumann na mBunscol. Entries to categories 2 -5 are also eligible for Category 8 which is the Assessors’ Merit Award. Any teacher, school, or unit of Cumann na mBunscol may nominate a serving or past member of Cumann na mBunscol for the Pat Trainor Hall of Fame Award in recognition of services to Cumann na mBunscol. School size will be a consideration in the Judging Process. Closing date for receipt of entries is Friday, 7 October 2011. 2011 Entries should be sent to: Bro. James Dormer, CBS Doon, Co Limerick. For more information and to download entry forms log on to


For match reports, fixtures and school GAA news and events, please email Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol PRO John Manley of Dualla NS at Website:

Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí.