Latest News‎ > ‎


posted 19 May 2011, 10:57 by Unknown user

Jake Morris Kilruane NS Continues Proud Family Tradition With Selection On Primary Game Hurling Team

When Jake Morris of Kilruane NS gained selection on the Tipperary Primary Game Hurling team to play Cork, he ensured the continuation of a very proud family association with Tipperary Primary Game Teams. Jake Morris represents Kilruane Primary school and he follows his sister Alanna who represented the same school in the primary game in 2008 against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds and also his brother Pearse who represented Nenagh Primary school in 2000 against Limerick in Pairc Uí Chaoimh. Jake plays Mid field for the Nenagh U12 team and was corner back on the County winning u 14 hurling team last year when aged 11. Pearse went on to represent Tipperary vocational schools and captained Nenagh Vocational schools to an All Ireland win in 2008. He now plays senior hurling for Nenagh Eire Óg. Pearse scored 2-1 in last year’s O Rian Cup final. Alanna was corner back on the All Ireland winning Tipperary u 16 team who defeated Kilkenny in the Gaelic Grounds recently. She plays at Mid Field for Nenagh Éire Óg U16 and Minor teams. They are also great grandchildren of the legendary Jimmy Butler Coffey. The Morris family is Synonymous with The Nenagh Éire Óg club. Uncle Martin is the sponsor of the North Tipperary GAA championship and has just stepped down after a very successful stint as Chairman of Nenagh Éire Óg  juvenile club. Jake's mum Denise is vice chairperson of the Nenagh Éire Óg Camogie club where Jake's Dad Seamus is club P.R.O. Denise is the first cousin of John, Brianny and Liam Heffernan, who all represented Tipperary teams with great distinction. Their Grandfather Jimmy Morris served his club Nenagh Éire Óg  with great distinction and was awarded a Sean Gael award by Christy Cooney recently. They are closely related to Noel Morris who is the county football chairman.




The following players have been selected on the Tipperary Primary Game Hurling & Camogie Teams to play at half-time during the Tipperary V Cork Munster Senior Hurling Championship game in Semple Stadium on Sunday, May 29th. Congratulations to these talented stars of the future. CAMOGIE TEAM 1. CAOIMHE BOURKE, INCH NS, 2. MAY POWER, BALLINA NS, 3. HAZEL MCAULIFFE, NENAGH NS, 4. ORLA O' DWYER, ROSEGREEN NS, 5. MAUREEN RYAN, UPPERCHURCH NS, 6. EMER MURPHY, TEMPLEDERRY NS, 7. SARAH MCKEVITT, PRESENTATION THURLES, 8. ROISÍN MEAGHER, BALLYTARSNA NS, 9. MARY GRACE, DROM NS, 10. SINÉAD MEAGHER CARRIG NS, 11. CLAIRE STAKELUM HOLYCROSS NS. Roghnóirí: Donall McCarthy Ballylooby NS, Michael Corcoran Upperchurch NS, Tammy Cullen New Inn NS

HURLING TEAM 1. Jerry Kelly Holycross NS, 2. Adam Hogan Dunkerrin NS, 3. Jake Morris Kilruane NS, 4. Jerome Cahill Ardcroney NS, 5. Cian Darcy Cloughjordan NS, 6. Brian McGrath Loughmore NS, 7. Scott Murphy Carrick CBS, 8. Shane Neville Mount Bruis, 9. Bill Darcy Gaelscoil Durlas, 10. Michael Purcell Scoil Ailbhe, 11. Aiden o Meara Barnane NS. Roghnóirí: Aodan Wrenn Clerihan NS, John Manley Dualla NS, Pat Buckley Ayle NS & Denis Kelly St. Colmcilles NS Templemore.


All schools wishing to compete in Cumann na mBunscol activities for 2011 are encouraged to send the €30 Registration Fee to Mr. Jerry McDonnell, Treasurer Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol, 25 Ballingarrane, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary as soon as possible. This very reasonable fee allows schools to participate in all Cumann na mBunscol activities for 2011. It also ensures that your school benefits from the subsidised Equipment Scheme. This is an annual payment and should be paid annually. It is NOT a one off payment. If schools could see to it that this fee is paid, it would be much appreciated. The following schools have paid their annual registration fee for 2011. If your school is not on this list, the €30 Registration fee is due immediately. In accordance with a recent motion that was passed, a school must pay the €30 Registration fee before participating in Cumann na mBunscol, Co. Thiobraid Árann activities. €30 Registration fee is due annually. Registered Schools: Ardfinnan NS, Aglish, Roscrea, Anacarty NS, Ardcroney NS, Ayle NS, Ballagh NS, Ballinree NS, Burgess NS, Ballina, Barnane, Ballyneale, Ballytarsna, Ballylooby, Cloughjordan, Clogheen, Clonmore, Clonoulty, Cappawhite, Carrig (Ballycommon), Clerihan, Castleiney, Donaskeigh, Drom, Dualla Dunkerrin,Fantane, Fethard, Holycross, Hollyford,Gaelscoil Bhríde Thurles, Gaelscoil Aonach Urmhumhan, Gaelscoil Cluain Meala, Gaelscoil Carraig na Siúire, Greenschool Carrick On Suir, Golden, Gortnahoe, Glengoole, Grange, Grangemockler, St. John The Baptist BNS, St. John The Baptist GNS, Killea, Kilruane, Killenaule,Kilvemnon, Kilcash, Kilsheelan, Kildangan, Lisnamrock, Lismackin, Lisvernane, Littleton, Loughmore, Mercy Convent Nenagh, Moycarkey, Mohober, Moyglass,Mount Bruis, Moyne, New Inn GNS,Newcastle, Our Lady of Mercy Cahir, Presentation Thurles, Poulacapple,Powerstown, Presentation Carrick On Suir, Rossmore, Rearcross, Rosegreen, Rathkeevin, Sacred Heart Roscrea, Slieveardagh, St. Colmcilles Templemore, St. Patricks Borrisoleigh, Skeheenarinky, St. Josephs Templemore, St. Peters & Pauls Clonmel, Sisters of Charity Clonmel, St. Josephs Tipp Town,Scoil Ailbhe Thurles, St. Michaels GNS Tipp Town, St. Olivers Clonmel, St. Josephs Ballingarry, Templetouhy, Templederry, Tipp CBS, Tankerstown, Two Mile Borris, Upperchurch. As can be seen from the list, a large number of schools have yet to pay. With finances becoming increasingly tight, it is very important that all schools pay as soon as possible. Otherwise, you are playing as an unregistered school.



For match reports, fixtures and school GAA news and events, please email Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol PRO John Manley of Dualla NS at Website:

Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí.