Latest News‎ > ‎


posted 20 May 2012, 10:13 by Unknown user


Best of luck to our Primary Game Hurling/Camogie & Football teams for next Sunday when they face Limerick and Kerry respectively during the senior matches. Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí.

Tipperary Primary Game Hurling Team v Limerick : 1. Mark O'Neill Kilruane, 2. Paddy Cadell St. Colmcilles, 3. Jay Culleton Dromakeenan, 4. Robert Quirke Ayle, 5. Donnchadh Quirke Clonoulty, 6. Conor Bowe Moyne, 7. Eoin Collins Barnane, 8. Billy Seymour Carrig NS, 9. Jack Ryan Ballagh NS, 10. Ray McCormack Borrisoleigh, 11. Darragh Woods Holycross NS. Roghnóirí: Aodan Wrenn Clerihan NS, John Manley Dualla NS, Pat Buckley Ayle NS, Denis Kelly St. Colmcilles NS Templemore, Paddy Kelly Scoil Eoin Naofa.

Primary Game Boys Football v Kerry 2012: Eoin Power, Clerihan, Mark O Farrell, Carraig, Nenagh, Harry Byrne, Ballina, Eoghan Connolly, Cashel, Ryan Lambe, Gaelscoil Chluain Meala, Jack Dolan, Moyglass, Oisín Napier, Rathkeevin, Ben Healy, Kilruane, Calvin O Rourke, Gurtagarry, Luke Delahunty, St. Marys CBS, William Armshaw, Ayle. Roghnóirí: Liam O Sullivan, Ardfinnan, Aodan Wrenn, Clerihan, Kieran Healy, Templemore , John Walsh, Clerihan, Padraig Fahey, Clerihan. Primary Game Ladies Football v Kerry 2012: Bridín Ní Mhurchú, Gaelscoil Durlas Éile, Katelyn Fleming, Anacarty, Christina Brennan, Castleiney, Orla Maher, Ayle, Caoimhe O Brien, Templemore, Lara O Dwyer, Mount Bruis, Saoirse Fanning, Tankerstown, Rebecca Kenny, Killusty, Jane Seymour, Carraig, Jenny Everard, Powerstown, Rachel Doyle, Ardfinnan. Roghnóirí: Ann Marie Landers, Gaelscoil Chluain Meala, Katie Sweeney, Ardfinnan, Labhaoise Ní Chuinneagáin, Gaelscoil Durlas Éile

TIPPERARY PRIMARY GAME CAMOGIE TEAM V LIMERICK: 1. Eimear Ní Riain (Kildangan NS), 2. Caoimhe Quirke (Scoil Angela, Thurles), 3. Hazel Coffey (St. Marys, Nenagh), 4. Jane Grogan (Cashel GNS), 5. Katie Ryan (Upperchurch NS), 6. Anna Gavin (Holycross NS), 7. Aisling Carey (Templederry NS), 8. Amy Quinlisk (Kilruane NS), 9. Karen Hogan (Scoil Eoin Naofa, Roscrea), 10. Laoise McGrath (Inch NS), 11. Eimear Meagher (Carrig NS). Roghnóirí: Michael Corcoran (Upperchurch NS), Tammy Cullen (New Inn NS), Julie Kirwan (Corville NS)


Sunday’s Tipperary Primary Game Camogie Team is packed with players who have strong family ties to some former greats! Eimear Ní Riain (Kildangan NS) - Her dad Conor Ryan was a selector on the county senior camogie team that won All Irelands in 2003 and 2004.  Eimear was the mascot for the team on these years. Caoimhe Quirke (Scoil Angela, Thurles) - A niece of Dan Quirke who scored 3.2 in the All Ireland U21 final vs Offaly in 1989. Hazel Coffey (St. Marys, Nenagh) - Her dad Roger won two All Ireland U21 titles in 1979 and 1980, two minor titles and one All Ireland Vocational Schools title. Jane Grogan (Cashel GNS) - Father Tommy won a minor All Ireland in 1976, U21 AI in 1979. She is a first cousin of Clare Grogan who won her first of five All Ireland camogie medals at 14 years of age and has three all stars and an All Ireland Club medal with Cashel. Katie Ryan (Upperchurch NS) - Father Michael won an AI senior Medal in 1991 as a player and in 2010 as a selector along with Liam Sheedy and Eamonn O Shea. He won an AI U21 title in 1989.  Her sister Maureen played on last year’s Primary Game Camogie team also. Anna Gavin (Holycross NS) - A niece of Joe Hayes who won All Ireland Senior Titles with Tipp in 1989 and 1991. Aisling Carey (Templederry NS) - Her brother Darragh played in goals on the Primary Game Hurling team in 2010. Amy Quinlisk (Kilruane NS) - Her Granduncle Noel Browne has been transporting Tipperary minor hurling and football teams to and from training and matches for the last thirty years. Eimear Meagher (Carrig NS) - Her sister Sinéad played on last year’s Primary Game Camogie team.

Our Primary Game Hurling Team for Sunday features Jack Ryan Ballagh NS. Jack is a son of Tipperary Senior Hurling Manager Declan.



It was a lovely day. We were out practicing when we got the call to get ready. We togged off and left. I could tell we were nervous. We reached Gortnahoe at around 12:30. We took to the pitch after five minutes. The team was Aaron Kearns in goals and backs Jack Moriarty and Oisin Fryday. Our midfield was Jack Ryan and Kellie Quirke and in the forwards were Tommy Ryan and Robert Doyle. Our captain was Jack Ryan. The ref blew the whistle and quickly Ballagh scored a lovely goal from the forward Robert Doyle who had received an excellent pass from the in-form Kellie Quirke. Kilvemnon’s goalkeeper pucked out the ball. The ball was won by Ballagh’s mid-fielder Jack Ryan who ran the pitch before finding the roof of the net. The ball was once again pucked out. Jack Ryan again won the ball, passed it to his brother Tommy who made no mistake in slotting the ball past the Kilvemnon goalkeeper. The first half ended with the score 3 points to 5-1.We started well even though we were playing against a strong wind. We drank some water and talked tactics before we hit the pitch. Jake ‘O Donnell and Anthony McCarthy came on. The ref blew the whistle. Tommy Ryan scored a lovely point. Jack Ryan scored three lovely points. Jake ‘O Donnell scored a lovely goal. Jack Ryan and Kellie Quirke came off and Tommy Ryan and Robert Doyle went into midfield. Our goalie Aaron Kearns who did very well in goals came out field and our back Jack Moriarty went in goals. Aaron scored a goal as well as hitting the crossbar twice. Kilvemnon pulled a goal back, but Robert Doyle of Ballagh was on hand to raise another green flag. Tommy Ryan added another point for Ballagh, Oisín Fryday chipped in with a spectacular long range free. All of the team did very well on the day. The final score was Ballagh 8:7 Kilvemnon 1:3 Ballagh were delighted with the win.  Hopefully we will the county final.




Our County Hurling Finals will take place in Semple Stadium on Thursday/Friday June 7th/8th. Please take note of this date.



Well done to this week’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Reporters of the Week AMY JORDAN, JACK MORIARTY & ROBERT DOYLE of Ballagh N.S.




For any schools/teachers wishing to access Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol news and updates via Twitter, the Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol Twitter username is @TippCumanNamBun. The following link will enable you to follow us:!/TippCumanNamBun. We would encourage as many teachers and schools as possible to follow us as this will enable you to access information as soon as it becomes available. We thank all the teachers who have become followers of Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol on Twitter. We have got a good reaction from teachers and schools in recent weeks. Our “follower base” is definitely rising! Our goal is to reach 250 followers by June 29th. Míle buíochas.



For match reports, fixtures and school GAA news and events, please email Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol PRO John Manley of Dualla NS at Website: Ní neart go cur le chéile.