Latest News‎ > ‎

Ardfinnan Return To The Top Table

posted 16 Nov 2011, 09:33 by Unknown user
The Maroons  win  out  in  fabulous football afternoon in Ardfinnan.
5 teams gathered in Ardfinnan recently to play in an U11 football blitz.Boys and girls from Ballylooby,Lisronagh,Ballyporeen,Rosegreen and of course Ardfinnan played out a very enjoyable afternoon  of football.The games were 8 a side  and at half time the subs had to be introduced... which made things more inclusive and even more interesting!Congratulations to all the players involved for their efforts on the field.Some fine football was played and the rain held off, which added greatly to everyone's enjoyment.By the end of proceedings it was down to the game between hosts Ardfinnan and visitors Ballylooby to determine who would go through to the County Final.What an excellent, high-scoring game it was....with the maroons finishing stronger on a scoreline of 4-8 to 4-3.The Ballylooby panel,as always , were very well coached and full of  determination on the day. The Ardfinnan panel were delighted with the win and since it's been a long time since the school U11s have been in a County final they hope to go one step further!
Panels included:
Ballylooby: Patrich Doyle,Shane Crosse,Cathal O Gorman, Billy Gleeson,Seán Brennock, Jack O Shea, Michael Reidy,Patrick Morrissey,Billy Coffey and John Shine.
Ballyporeen : Eoin Fitzgerald,Adam Fitzgerald,Glen Ryan,Christopher English,Jordan O Shea,Riain Hennessey,Rowan English,Gearóid O Mahony, Adam English,Shona Lang, Lauren Hackett and Olivia English.
Rosegreen: Christopher Geraghty,Cormac Freir,Eoin McSweeney,Tom Dowling,Andrew Moloney, Tom Tobin,Cian Hayde, Tadhg Vaughan,Dara Crimmins and Jack Ryan.
Lisronagh:Josh Power, Mark Sheehan, Harry Phelan,Aidan Lonergan,Brian O Sullivan,Conor Óg Ryan, Daragh Fenlon,Rory O Connor,Jack Channon and James Cronin.
Ardfinnan : Brett Adams, Joseph Betts, Seán Óg Coughlan,Luke O Brien,Michael Walshe, Andrew Browne,Martin Condon, Conor Gallagher, Eoin Wyse,Cian O Leary,Rhys Byron and Cian O Mahoney.
Many thanks to Derek O Mahony and Martin Doyle for refereeing all the games and to Paddy Noonan for preparing the pitches.