Latest News‎ > ‎

Thomastown Overcome Gallant Corville To Take The Title (By Adam McGrath, Christopher Farrell, Lorcan O’Dwyer – 6th Class)

posted 25 Nov 2011, 09:48 by Unknown user   [ updated 26 Nov 2011, 12:05 ]
It was a very dull and damp day as we made our way to school on November 18th. The class arrived to school nervous about the upcoming game. The weekly tests began but we could tell that nobody was focusing on the tests, not even our teacher! The gear bags were loaded on board the bus and we set off for The Ragg. When we arrived, we put on our gear and headed out to do our warm up. At 11.20am the team lined out on the field and the ball was thrown in. The opening exchanges were fairly even but after five minutes the first goal came when Shane Farrell caught the ball on the wing and lobbed it over the keeper and it went into the back of the net. We were dominating possession when Corville went on a counter attack. The Corville player slipped inside our backline but luckily for us he only scored a point. Andy Byrnes was desperate to score a goal for us but he hit the post twice. Soon after Lorcan O’Dwyer gained possession and he buried it in the top corner to score a great goal. The half time score was 3-1 to 1-2 in favour of Thomastown. The second half got underway and our defence was solid apart from one mistake which Corville took advantage of. Our keeper was very alert all throughout the match and he brought off two great saves to keep Corville at bay while our midfield and forward line began to take control. The final whistle went and it was an outstanding feeling for a small school like Thomastown to win a county final. Captain Adam McGrath was presented with the trophy while Christopher and Andy soaked him with a water bottle as we all celebrated! The final score of this great game was 4-7 to 1-2. The Thomastown panel was Adam McGrath, Martin Ryan, Tony Byron, Lorcan O’Dwyer, Brian Barlow, Niall Heffernan, Andy Byrnes, Shane Farrell, Alex Ryan, Kevin Hally, Christopher Farrell, Jack O’Dwyer, Jack Crowe, Richie Crowe, Harry Barrett, DJ Cleary, Eoin O’Sullivan, Jack Kennedy, Lee Esmonde, Billy Ashford